Little Adventures: Skunk Cabbage Achieved

After years of seeing metro park posts about skunk cabbage, one of the first spring wildflowers,I finally got to see some live and in person.

The ones that ABBF and I found were partially submerged in a swampy area. Their glorious lime and dark purple fashion choices were still vibrant and I could see the funky inner spadix.

Apparently skunk cabbage creates its own heat which helps it bloom in cold weather and can also entice bugs looking for a cozy hideaway. The putrid skunk smell also pulls in the bugs, and was the other reason I wanted to see one.

The swampy area was accessible via a boardwalk, and unfortunately, all of the skunk cabbages were at least a foot away from the boardwalk. Makes sniffin’ hard.

So I made a choice that is probably along the lines of why the National Park Service has to put up signs stating to not to pet the fluffy buffalos. I asked ABBF to hold my hat and glasses, laid down on the boardwalk, gripped the edge, and stuck my nose in a skunk cabbage. ABBF did not take a picture because he was convinced that he would have to rescue me. However my sweet yoga energy saved me from face planting into the few inches of swamp water and muck. (Actually my ass end is the far heavier end and it was firmly planted on the boardwalk.)

Unfortunately, I did not get that sweet, sweet, putrid skunk stank just musty water and rotting leaves. Some online sources suggested that you have to bruise the leaves to get the stink, but my stronger suspicion is that the water was blocking the smell.

The quest continues.

7 thoughts on “Little Adventures: Skunk Cabbage Achieved

  1. I grew up around skunk cabbages and was happy to not smell them too closely. The smell was not as bad as when the car accidentally ran over a dead skunk, but still..

    why do you want to smell them??

    Have you smelled the corpse flower?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment