DIY Yoga

Accumulating projects just proves I’m alive! Or maybe it’s the getting them done part that proves that.img_5590

I’ve jealousy eyed the tie-dyed leggings of more…um…compactly built yoga classmates, wishing I could find a pair for myself.  Internet searches for white or at least light colored yoga leggings resulted in brands featuring thin, cheap fabric and size XL’s that probably would not have been compatible with my size XL.

The other key was cotton fabric. I learned during this project that polyester dye CANNOT be used for tie-dye purposes unless you are willing to dip the fabric into crazy hot water and stand there holding it while the dye and fabric react to the heat. Using the poly dye in the same way I normally would, results in all of the dye being washed from the fabric in the first rinse. Oops.

Sometimes you really do need to read the directions and then re-read them, and then go read some instructional articles.

january20178

My sister’s technique: Nothing says leggings model like fish flavored Newfoundland drool.

Finally, Old Navy put out a white and light gray legging in their exercise line. The fabric was predominantly cotton, workable colors, not see-through, and sized to fit. I grabbed multiple pairs during a sales event and went to work. (I have gone back hoping to find more on super clearance but no luck thus far.)

The final product didn’t quite reflect my vision, but the poly dye snafu gave me a second chance to work with patterns. Reviews have been positive and nobody has come back sweaty with tie-dyed skin.

I gave a few away as gifts with the disclaimer that the wearer had to send me a blog approved photo. This what happens when I model yoga poses:

february20175

Basic tree…ok                                  oh no………..                                 ….    shit

And when my strong, flexible friend models them:

january20179

She went Crow!!!

Yep. Definite compare/contrast situation.

january201710

I need to get my head down when I peel the three-legged dog.Giant white sports bra peekin’ at ya!

As far as a my modeling technique, I decided my sister had the right idea. Just the wrong animal.

Cat super model!

img_6059

Leave a Reply

