Heckled

I came out the side door of the garage to the an uproar of chirps and cheeps, the bird equivalent of: “Hey, baby, can we get some fries with that shake?”

From a better angle on the ground, I was able to see that the “catcallers” were four juvenile birds yelling not at me, but at their parent. Mom or Dad’s circular flight pattern, curved wings,  and forked tail made me think that they were either Swifts or Swallows.

Not great from the phone, but I like the silhouettes.

Not great from the phone, but I like the silhouettes and the action.

My camera did better with details than the smart phone at this distance, and revealed that the youngsters had tawny chests under dark wings possibly making them Barn Swallows.  Not a ton of barns in the area, but probably enough poorly maintained duplex attics to provide housing.

Number decided to go further in roof.

Number decided to go further in roof.

I waited for a few more parental pass thrus, but did not get any better shot of the feeding.

CHEEEEEEEEEEEEP!

CHEEEEEEEEEEEEP!

 

One thought on “Heckled

  1. Pingback: Drinks On Me! | possumscatsthingsgnawingatme

Leave a Reply

