Sniffing the Cork

Like  a fine wine, we must first sniff the cat food lid for it’s delectable hints of possible animal by products, crisp fishy aromas, and flamboyant notes of stinky feet or possibly vomit.

"I detect a

“I detect leather, cherry, and pig innards!”

When this little ritual reminded me of sniffing a wine’s cork before tasting, I read some articles about that tradition. Most articles pointed out that given modern corks, the step of sniffing the wine cork to learn anything about the wine itself is an archaic and somewhat snobby practice. There may be some indications as to how the wine was stored, but it is somewhat pointless on the subject of taste.

Stretches!

Stretches!

This made me think that I needed to stop creating pointless rituals/ traditions/habits and behaviors with my cats. They don’t NEED to sniff or lick the lid of the cat food can. In fact, it’s kind of sharp along the edges and I would hate for someone to catch a little pink tongue. It also creates a shark-like furry frenzy. I could lose an arm.

But OMG THEY ARE SO ADORABLE AND IT’S THE ONLY THING THAT ALL FOUR OF THEM AGREE ON PEACEFULLY!

Stinkin' adorable.

Stinkin’ adorable.

2 thoughts on “Sniffing the Cork

  1. Pingback: Monday Night Haikus | possumscatsthingsgnawingatme

  2. Pingback: Coffee in the garden | possumscatsthingsgnawingatme

Leave a Reply

