JINGLE BALLS! JINGLES BALLS!

I’m losing my damned mind.

In the spring, a teacher’s ire turns strongly to thoughts of “OMG, WHY ARE YOU MAKING YOUR OWN LIFE AND MY LIFE SO HARD?!!! SERIOUSLY! HIGH SCHOOL DOES NOT HAVE TO BE THIS DIFFICULT. I AM PRACTICALLY GIVING GRADES AWAY. AMERICA HAS REALLY LOW EDUCATIONAL EXPECTATIONS! C’MON!”

On Sunday, I took a load of laundry out of the washer only to discover that there was a load in the dryer.

A load from last Sunday because that would have been when I last had a chance to do laundry.

A wet load from last Sunday. It smelled awesome.

I put the new load in the dryer and made damned sure that I turned it on. The stinky science experiment went into the washer.

About 5 minutes later, I realized that the load in the dryer had been “washed” without the benefit of me adding detergent. I can’t even take care of myself at this time of year.

To add to the squalor of multiple laundry baskets of clean laundry that needs put away, carpets that need vacuumed, and  garden stuff that needs planted, the cats threw a party.

My dreams featured the sounds of jingle ball cat toys rolling and jingling and thumping and jingling. I woke up to a hallway strewn with toys. (By some miracle the toys typically don’t make it beyond the living room area.)

The aftermath

The aftermath

I know it doesn’t look like much of a party, but all of the toys have  a sound component plus whatever noise the cat batting them around makes. Around the corner, my living room was taken over with toys. I’m sure the good people of HGTV would give me the same stink eye that they give to families’ whose houses have been taken over by children’s toys. Normally, the toys are stored in the purple cubes, but when somebody drags the cubes around or repeatedly runs through them, organization departs.

HGTV would frown upon this.

HGTV would frown upon this.

I missed a wild night, I guess. Birdie was drinking water out of a plastic cup before I had a chance to top off the cat fountain. Miles wouldn’t get out of lounge mode and Olivia was still coming down from all the adrenaline by attempting to shred her way through a shoe box.

Why not shred a shoebox too?

Why not shred a shoebox too?

As per usual, Sookie maintained an aloof and un-involved attitude.

Sookie says this was not her fault.

Sookie says this was not her fault.

 

Leave a Reply

