The First Day

The last exam was graded yesterday. The last yearbook underclassman released from duty and obligations within minutes of the last bell. Check.

Traditional pedagogical Dionysian carousing completed. Check.

Now dawns a new morning, a new era of “freedom”: the first day of summer break.

So early, in theory.

So early, in theory.

(Except that I have about 3-4 weeks of publication editing and submitting ahead for me, a senior editor to help wrap up graduation spreads, materials to gather for a workshop I teach, and I need to sign up for summer classes. Other than that…sweet, sweet freedom.)

I awoke at what I was sure had to be well past 10 a.m. Dionysus does not recommend getting up before at least that time. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that my body clock had let me “sleep in” until 7:30 a.m. A time when the morning sunlight is still cool, and most of the neighbors seem to still be asleep.

One of the good bugs.

One of the good bugs.

The cats and I opened the kitchen curtains and surprised two large rabbits who were also enjoying the quiet morning. Opening another curtain revealed a baby Praying Mantis clinging to the window screen outside. I’ll take

They don't take dill and basil in their eggs.

They don’t take dill and basil in their eggs.

both of these nature sightings as good omens.

A quick walk out to the dewy garden for dill and basil to complete my breakfast eggs also reminded me that I’m supposed to harvest lettuce early in the day. Lunch is planned.

Lunch.

Lunch.

 

4 thoughts on “The First Day

  1. Wow yous vewy own gawden. And yous still got lettuce wiff bunnys?? Mommy can’t gwow lettuce altho’ hers wuld luv tu cuz da bunnys ate it all. MOL Hav fun!!!!

    Luv and Hugs and Kitty kisses

    Dezi

    Like

  2. Pingback: Wascally Wabbit | possumscatsthingsgnawingatme

Leave a Reply

