Oh, Phil

The sound on this video is awful, but the point of view is awesome. It really provides the visual of the number of people who are willing to stand in the cold until sunrise to hear the prognostication of Punxsutawney Phil Prognosticator of Prognosticators.

I’ve been that person…TWICE!

It’s bizarre that this many humans would band together to witness Marmota Monax meteorologist without benefit of warmth or alcohol. I kinda love it!

I have  a poster of Bill the guy on the left with the microphone holding Phil. It’s good stuff, man. I’ve been smooched by one of the hands-ier members of the Inner Circle. It gets weird up on Gobbler’s Knob.

When I found this video, I also found a number of angry comments. C’mon, Phil’s just a pampered little guy trying to live up to a mish-mash of Celtic and German traditions/superstitions. The 6 weeks thing works out either  way. The first day of spring is March 20. Do the math and accept that Phil knows best.

Phil’s sunrise appearance also ties to my early morning entry into the world. I’m 40. Let’s just discuss that later.

Here’s a better video and pictures of me eating a groundhog. Yum.

Don't drive angry, Phil.

Don’t drive angry, Phil.

 

One thought on “Oh, Phil

  1. Pingback: All Groundhog, All the Time | possumscatsthingsgnawingatme

Leave a Reply

