OMG! IT’S A HAWK! HOLY CRAP! HOLY CRAP!

Here’s a nice break from discussions of kitty chemo and how my body decided to empty itself of EVERYTHING on Monday morning as chemo kitty threw up. These are not easy things to deal with at 5 a.m.

This afternoon I was staring out at the backyard thinking about the dramatic seasonal changes. My flowerbed is empty of flowers and populated by a rotting jack-o-lantern and snow remnants from the first real snowfall. I really thought Mr. Squirrel would be more into leftover pumpkin. He ate the seeds but is unconcerned otherwise. The chickadees were flitting around calling their names “chick a dee dee dee,” when movement on the fence caught my eye.

Holy crap, it’s a hawk!!!!!!

The hawk was considerate enough to hang out as I tripped over hungry, yowling cats to grab my camera. It sat on the fence eyeballing my flowerbed for about ten minutes before taking off. I would be upset for Mr. Chipmunk if the hawk got him, but I did kind of want to see it strike.

I’ve been trying to identify it. My top contenders are Cooper’s Hawk, Sparrow Hawk, and possibly, but probably not, Sharp Shinned Hawk. They’re all starting to look alike and I probably need a live hawk line-up to figure out who’s who at this point.

2 thoughts on “OMG! IT’S A HAWK! HOLY CRAP! HOLY CRAP!

  1. Pingback: A Morning Visitor | possumscatsthingsgnawingatme

  2. Pingback: Wascally Wabbit | possumscatsthingsgnawingatme

Leave a Reply

